adTempus 2.0 API - ASP

smp (34 posts)
October 29, 2008 02:46 PM
Accepted Answer
Hi. I was able to fight my way through developing a simple web interface with ASP using the Arcana API. The web interface provided some rudimentary control over scheduled jobs.

I'm in the process of trying to migrate that ASP code to adTempus 2.x, but I'm having difficulty understanding the API documentation. Because I am not a programmer, I get lost in all the object/interfaces/classes jargon.

I don't quite understand what the arguments are for the GetObjectsWhere method. From the doc it appears I should be using "IObjectRequestFilter", but I can't figure out how the doc of that "interface" translates into ASP/vbscript:

set objADTempus = CreateObject("ADTempus.Application")
set objScheduler = objADTempus.Connect("","")
set objJob = objScheduler.GetObjectsWhere("SELECT * from job where name=bogus_name", 0, true)

This ends with a "Type mismatch: 'GetObjectsWhere'" error.

Can someone please provide me with simple ASP/vbscript code which will allow me to select a particular job based on the known job name?
J.D. Staff (46 posts)
October 30, 2008 08:43 AM
Accepted Answer
If you are just now migrating from the Arcana Scheduler (if I understand correctly), you should strongly consider going to adTempus 3.0 instead of 2.1. Why migrate to a version that's already obsolete?

There is a rudimentary Web interface available for adTempus 2.1 here, which is built using classic ASP using VBScript. You might be able to use that as a starting point. There is a nicer Web interface for adTempus 3.0 here; it's built with ASP.NET.

There is an example in the API documentation (here) that shows how to get a job by name.